Tag: Krzyztopor Castle

Tag: Krzyztopor Castle

Around & About in Kielce

Świętokrzyski National Park

The park is located just 18km away from Kielce and includes the highest ridge of the Świętokrzyskie Mountains, which are the oldest in Poland. The Park is famous for its trees, of which 674 are regarded as monuments of nature and as such are under protection. The most treasured historical building of the Świętokrzyski National Park is the Benedictine monastery situated on Święty Krzyż Mountain, which dates back to the first half of the 12th century.

Further information.

Kurozwęki Palace & Estate

Kurozwęki is a village located 7 kilometres from Staszów and 54 kilometres from Kielce. The palace is a bit outside the centre of the village, but the access to it is well signposted. Today, the palace houses a hotel, you’ll also find restaurants, a bison herd, a mini-zoo and an Arabian stud farm.

Further information.

Museum of the Kielce Region Countryside Ethnographic Park

Just 20km away from Kielce you will find the Museum of the Kielce Region Countryside Ethnographic Park in Tokarnia, which aims to maintain the most valuable monuments of rural and small-town housing in the Kielce Region and present them in an environment similar to the original. The museum exhibits an interesting collection of horse-drawn vehicles.

Further information.

Bałtów Tourist Complex

Kielce is a good base to explore the region’s tourist attractions such as Poland’s first Jurassic Park, the Bałtów Tourist Complex; which contains a 1 km long educational path with 100 life-size models of dinosaurs, the Jurassic Museum, the Prehistoric Oceanarium, a zoo and the Sabathówka Witches’ Village.

Further information.

Krzyztopor Castle

Krzyztopor Castle is located in the tiny village of Ujazd, 35km from the town of Sandomierz. The castle is in ruins today but still attracts many visitors who are free to explore the grounds, ascend the turrets and ponder its remarkable, yet bizarre history. The castle was commissioned in the 17th century by Krzysztof Ossoliński, an eccentric magnate with a fantastical imagination and it took 13 years to build (1631 to 1644). The construction was supervised and designed by Lorenzo Muretto, an Italian architect who was one of the few people around during this time who could create Ossolinski’s dream.

Further information.

Krzyztopor Castle

Krzyztopor Castle is located in the tiny village of Ujazd, 35km from the town of Sandomierz. The castle is in ruins today but still attracts many visitors who are free to explore the grounds, ascend the turrets and ponder its remarkable, yet bizarre history.

The castle was commissioned in the 17th century by Krzysztof Ossoliński, an eccentric magnate with a fantastical imagination and it took 13 years to build (1631 to 1644). The construction was supervised and designed by Lorenzo Muretto, an Italian architect who was one of the few people around during this time who could create Ossolinski’s dream.

Krzyztopor Castle was indeed a work of fantasy, with immense stone walls; which were 600 metres long. It was designed to embody a calendar. It had four towers to represent the four seasons, twelve large halls to symbolise the twelve months of the year, fifty two rooms for the fifty two weeks and three hundred and sixty six windows to represent the days of the year (one only to be used during a leap year).

When construction of the castle was complete, it was known as an unconquerable fortress due to its modern fortifications and location.

Supposedly, the ball room within the castle had an aquarium in place of the ceiling and some of the cellars were used as stables for the owner’s 370 white stallions.

There are also rumours about the cellars being adorned with black marble and mirrors, underfloor heating and a 15 km underground tunnel covered in sugar.

Ossolinski was unfortunately unable to enjoy his version of Neverland because he died from a heart attack just one year after its completion leaving the estate to his son, a captain in the Polish Hussars, who now supposedly haunts the ruins of the castle at night wearing his armour.

The castle was turned into the headquarters of Swedish invaders in 1655 who left the once magnificent structure destroyed and looted and was eventually abandoned in 1770 when the owners at the time were unable to maintain it and the structure fell into ruin.

Today, the castle is rumoured to be haunted not only by the Polish Hussars captain and son of Krzysztof Ossoliński; but also a White Lady and her little white dog who continue to appear on the castle walls together on certain nights.

Visit the official Krzyztopor Castle website.